IAEA Announces Four Recipients of the inaugural Roger W. Kahn Fellowship

IAEA Announces Four Recipients of the inaugural Roger W. Kahn Fellowship

Press release from: American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics
Posted: Friday May 28 2021

The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) is pleased to announce the four recipients of the inaugural Roger W. Kahn scholarship – the very first scholarship that the IAEA has offered to high school students. The four $ 10,000 scholarships were awarded to:

Natalie Bretton, Menchville High School, Newport News, Virginia

Will attend: University of Virginia

Madison Chubb, Timber Creek High School, Orlando, Florida

Will attend: University of Florida

Daichi Horiguchi, Mira Costa High School, Manhattan Beach, California

Will attend: Stanford University

Gloria Johnson, Brooke Point High School, Stafford, Virginia

Will attend: Washington & Jefferson College

Kahn scholarship recipients will be invited to attend an AIAA event such as the AIAA SciTech forum, AIAA AVIATION forum or ASCEND. Each of them will also be paired with a professional AAIA member mentor to guide them in their career path. Read them full profiles on the IAEA website.

The Roger W. Kahn Fellowship was created to honor the memory of Roger Kahn and his passion for aviation and entertainment. Kahn (1907–1962) spent the latter part of his career with Grumman Aircraft Engineering Corporation as a test pilot, then headed the technical service and sales division. In the 1940s, Kahn was actively involved with the Institute of Aeronautical Sciences (one of the predecessor organizations of the IAEA) and subsequently served as vice president.

Kahn was also an accomplished jazz musician as early as the 1920s, composing songs often featured in stage productions and early films, as well as conducting numerous orchestras. He became a recording artist for some of the early record companies including Victor, Brunswick and Columbia.

“The IAEA is pleased to honor the memory of Roger W. Kahn with a scholarship to support the next generation of the aerospace profession. Kahn’s legacy of enthusiasm and accomplishment in aviation began nearly 100 years ago and will remain relevant over the next 100 years of aviation and aerospace innovation, ”commented the Executive Director of the AIAA, Dan Dumbacher. “We are delighted to award the Kahn Fellowship to Natalie, Madison, Daichi and Gloria and we can’t wait to see how they will shape the future of aerospace!”

“AIAA also presented our new Membership of high school students this year as part of our commitment to become a vital link for these students to access reliable resources and growth opportunities. These new resources have proven to be popular – the IAEA has already welcomed over 600 high school student members this year and received applications from over 180 high school students around the world competing for the Kahn scholarship, ”Dumbacher concluded.

John Langford, President of the AIAA Foundation, added: “The IAEA is honored by the significant donation of Roger W. Kahn to the IAEA. The AIAA Foundation is happy to use part of it to help identify, mentor and promote promising young aerospace talent. By offering this new scholarship to high school students, we can connect with students from the early stages of their academic journey towards a rewarding aerospace career. Scholarships are a powerful investment in a student’s journey from classroom to career. As we celebrate the 25 anniversary of the AIAA Foundation, we want to recognize the generosity of our members and partners who help the AIAA inspire as many students and educators as possible.

Applications for the 2022 Roger W. Kahn scholarship will open on August 15th. The IAA will again award up to four $ 10,000 scholarships to high school students who enroll in an accredited college or university and intend to pursue a major in aerospace or STEM. Students from groups currently under-represented in the aerospace profession are particularly encouraged to apply. For more information, send an email [email protected]

# # #

Media contact: Rebecca B. Gray, [email protected], cell 804-397-5270

About the IAEA

The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) is the world’s largest technical aerospace company. With nearly 30,000 individual members from 91 countries and 100 corporate members, the IAEA brings together industry, academia and government to advance engineering and science in aviation, space and defense. For more information visit www.aiaa.org, or follow AIAA on Twitter, Facebook, or LinkedIn.

// finish //

More press releases and status reports or featured articles

Please follow SpaceRef on Twitter and like us on Facebook.

Source link

About Perry Perrie

Perry Perrie

Check Also

Srinivas Rangarajan Wins NSF CAREER Award for Catalytic Transfer Hydrogenation Research

PICTURE: Srinivas Rangarajan, Assistant Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering at PC Rossin College of …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *